top of page

Contact Us

Jayhawk Audubon Society

PO Box 3741

Lawrence, KS 66046

Success! Message received.

Our Mission & History

The mission of the Jayhawk Audubon Society is to provide opportunities for greater understanding and appreciation of birds and other wildlife, to encourage sustainable practices, and to advocate for actions and policies which result in protection and preservation of intact ecological ecosystems.

We endeavor to promote this mission in all we do including education and awareness projects, field trips and public programs. We seek partnerships and work with other organizations locally, statewide, nationally and internationally to support those who share our goals and pass along opportunities for everyone to be involved in this mission.

Jayhawk Audubon Society was organized in 1970 and chartered by National Audubon in spring of 1971. All of our resources are available to the public free of charge and our meetings and field trips are always open to the public.

JAS is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. Donations are tax deductible. 

Click here for the Constitution and By-Laws of Jayhawk Audubon.

Board Members

President: Kelly Barth

Vice President: Lynn Byczynski

Recording and Corresponding Secretary: Pam Chaffee

Treasurer: Vanessa Carlos

Board Members At Large:

Debbie Baker, Jim Bresnahan, Joseph Rogers, and Kim Sain

Committee Chairs:

Communications and Outreach - Lynn Byczynski

Conservation - Kaitlin Stanley

Education - Sandy Sanders

Field Trips - Roger Boyd

Membership - Kristine Latta

Programs - Kelly Barth

Publicity - Pam Chaffee


Bird Seed Sales - Pam Chaffee

Books and Feeders - Ron & Joyce Wolf

Newsletter Editor - Vacant

Education - Sandy Sanders

Birdathon - Vacant

Christmas Bird Count - Galen Pittman

Eagles Day - Bunnie Watkins

Earth Day - Susan MacNally

Migratory Bird Count - Vanessa Carlos

Hospitality - Vacant

Historian - Ron Wolf

Audubon of Kansas Chapter Rep - Jim Bresnahan

bottom of page